Chairman Jim Michels opened the annual meeting of the District of Powers Lake with the Pledge of Allegiance. The comminisioners were introduced. Gil Kroll is elected and takes care of grants and does the weekly water sampling. Judy Jooss is appointed by Kenosha County. She has been the director of Wisconsin Association of Lakes and is a great resource. Brooke Jensen is an elected commissioner and serves as treasurer. Pat Miller serves as secretary. She is responsible for the newsletter and is elected. Paul DeMichele is elected and organized the election of officers. Ken Mangold is appointed by the Town of Randall.

- 1. Minutes of the 2007 Annual Meeting. Pat Miller read the minutes of the last annual meeting. A motion by Patrick Gillespie to approve the minutes as read. Bernadine DeMichele seconded. Motion carried.
- 2. Treasurer's Report. Brooke Jensen reported there is \$40,771 in the money market account, a \$10,000 in a certificate of deposit and \$27,338 in the checking account. Bob Bonifas made a motion to approve the report. Laura Shimkus seconded. Motion carried.
- 3. Chairperson's Report. Jim Michels stated the bylaws provide for four quarterly meetings and an annual meeting. Meetings were held on the first Friday of each quarter being October 5, 2007, January 4, 2008, April 8, 2008 and June 20, 2008. The primary action for last year was toward Eurasian Water Milfoil (EWM). A whole lake permit was obtained this year so treatment could be made anywhere it was needed. Went to a calendar year for our budget year. Each of the Commissioners reported on a specific activity that they have been involved with. Gill Kroll – A Lake Management Planning grant has just been applied for. The water clarity is down this year from previous years. There was a large number of dead carp this spring. When there is a lot of rainfall bacteria is washed into the lake and when the carp feed this particular bacteria causes them to die. Judy Jooss – Several educational meetings are held around the state each year. She attended the Wisconsin Association of Lakes convention. Next year the convention will take place at the end of March. The Great Lakes Compact has just passed in the Senate. It will be voted on in the House in September. Urged everyone to contact his or her representative. Pat Miller – The EWM could not be treated early this year because the water was on the lawns. Any treatment may have killed the plants. Treatment at the beach was postponed because of swim lessons. A picture from the newspaper showing the third graders from Randall School at the lake was passed around. Read a report from Karen Redden who teaches Adopt-A-Lake classes. Paul DeMichele – He has had a quiet year and is elected. Ken Mangold – There is now an attendant at each of the boat launches. All monies generated from the increased fees will be put back into lake activities. The Town has budgeted money to help with Milfoil treatment.
- 4. Nomination and Election of Candidates for Office of Commissioners. Paul DeMichele conducted the election. The two seats currently held by Pat Miller and Gil Kroll are open. The first position needs to be a full time resident. Pat Gillespie nominated Nancy Michael. Kevin Keating seconded. Bill Lynch

- nominated Gil Kroll. Paul Kuczerepa seconded. Bernadine DeMichele moved the nomination be closed. Laura Shimkus seconded. John Davits nominated Neal Kuhn. Kevin Keating seconded. Eva Brag nominated Pat Miller. Laura Shimkus seconded. Carole Michels moved to close the nominations. Laura Shimkus seconded. Each candidate spoke telling a little bit about themselves.
- 5. Presentation Dr. Jeffrey Thornton, SEWRPC, will discuss "Recreational Use Management Issues". Jeff Thornton gave an interesting slide presentation of Wisconsin water law, lake uses, boaters and boating.
- 6. Report of Election Results. There were 67 ballots issued. The two judges were Charles Gitzinger and Paul Chaffee and certified the election with all ballots being returned.

Gil Kroll – 29 Nancy Michael – 36 Pat Miller – 19 Neal Kuhn – 48

Both Pat and Gil were thanked for their past services. Nancy and Neal were congratulated.

- 7. Presentation of the Proposed 2009 Budget. The proposed budget was summarized in the newsletter. The total of the proposed budget was corrected to read \$59,577 with a tax levy of \$30,000. Paul DeMichele created a budget.
- 8. Budget Hearing. Kathy Jensen moved to open the budget hearing. Bill Lynch seconded. Motion carried. The 2009 budget was review and questions were answered. The Budget Hearing was closed. A motion by Bill Lynch to accept the Budget presented by the Board. Pam Kroll seconded. A hand count of 15 in favor and 5 opposed.
- 9. Approval of projects costing over \$10,000. A motion by Bill Lynch to spend up to \$31,000 on EWM treatment. Kathy Jensen seconded. A hand count of 20 in favor and 0 opposed. A motion by Bill Lynch to approve the tax levy in the amount of \$30,000. Sandy Wood seconded. A hand count of 20 in favor and 3 opposed.
- 10. Approval of resolution in support of lake management planning grant project. The resolution was read. A motion by Bernadine DeMichele to pass the resolution and submit it to the DNR. Lora Shimkus seconded. A hand count of 22 in favor and 0 opposed.
- 11. Set 2009 Annual Meeting date. Carole Michels made a motion to set the next Annual Meeting date for Friday, August 7, 2009. Bernadine DeMichele seconded. A hand vote of 20 in favor and 0 opposed. The meeting was adjourned at 10:00 p.m.

Submitted by Phyllis Kaskin

Present were: Jim Michels, Ken Mangold, Brooke Jensen, Paul DeMichele, Judy Jooss, Nancy Michael, and Neal Kuhn.

Jim Michels called the meeting of the commissioners to order immediately after the Annual Meeting to elect the officers for the coming year.

Neal Kuhn made a motion to have Jim Michels remain as Chairman. Paul DeMichele seconded. Motion carried.

Judy Jooss made a motion that Brooke Jensen remain treasurer. Jim Michels seconded. Motion carried.

Ken Mangold made a motion to nominate Nancy Michael as secretary. Paul DeMichele seconded. Motion carried.

The next meeting of the commissioners will be on October 3<sup>rd</sup> at 5:00 p.m.

A motion by Ken Mangold to adjourn. Neal Kuhn seconded. The motion was carried and the meeting adjourned at 10:25 p.m.

Submitted by Phyllis Kaskin